RHES School Council

The A+ Education Reform Act of 2000 established school councils in Georgia to "bring communities and schools closer together in a spirit of cooperation to:

  • solve difficult education problems,
  • improve academic achievement,
  • provide support for teachers and administrators, and
  • bring parents into the school-based decision-making process.

School councils provide advice, recommendations, and assistance to principals and local boards of education. The law details the composition of the council, its responsibilities, and procedures for conducting business.

The 2004 General Assembly in HB 1190 provided flexibility in membership, chairmanship, meetings, elections and trainings for school councils. The changes also provided clarity that school councils are to focus on student achievement and school improvement.

The 2007 General Assembly changed the composition of school councils, requiring that a majority of members be parents (or guardians) and that at least 2 parents be business persons.

The School Council members at RHES are:

Walt Barnes – principal

Lynn DeWitt – teacher 

April Gregory - teacher

Jodie Tucker – business partner (vice chairperson)

Niki Midgett – business partner

Maggie O'Connor – parent (chairperson)

Emmalie Zak Rhodes – parent (secretary)

Meeting Minutes 

RHES School Council Minutes - October 11, 2019

RHES School Council Minutes - December 16, 2019